Wednesday, February 29, 2012

The Sound Of Young Seattle Vol. II

Thanks to David Kulczyk, The Sound Of Young Seattle Vol II is now available in mp3. The cassette came out in 1985, and was produced by David and Grant Eckman (The Walkabouts). The cover design was made by ex-Feast member Jane Higgins.

Allison Maryatt - Couldn’t find much info except that she recently played guitar and sang in Slippage, a band that also featured Jack Endino on bass and Scott McCullum (Skin Yard, Gruntruck) on drums. Myspace here.
Bundle of Hiss - Kurt Danielson’s band before TAD. The band’s membership at the time included Kurt Danielson (bass), Kurt Schonberg (vocals), Jeff Hopper (guitar), and Russ Bartlet (drums).
Dwindles - changed their name into Pure Joy shortly after.
Melting Fish - a new wave/post-punk duo featuring brothers Glenn and Mike Slater.
PMA - stands for Pozitive Mental Attitude. Green River opened for them in 1984 at a private party in Capital Hill. That was Green River‘s first public performance.
Scary Rhythm People - An improvisation made by members of various bands such as The Walkabouts, A Western Familly and other bands featured on this compilation.

A Western Familly - I am Rain
Feast - Baby Teeth
Gary Heffern - Unwanted Children
Vivasection - Another Day
The Walkabouts - A Certain Gift

Saturday, February 4, 2012

Feast: 500 Foot Grunge Fiends

After an exhausting day of research I’ve managed to put together only a short abstract on another Seattle mysterious band. Sure you can find some articles on Feast, but they all contain the same little information. From what I’ve read, I’m thinking Feast resembles Bundle of Hiss in some ways. They inspired a whole generation of bands, droving from their early post-punk sound to a heavy hybrid known as “grunge”. Didn’t leave much of a recording history, but everyone (over 40 years old) remembers the band’s intense live shows that colored the Seattle scene for more than a half of 80’s decade.

The band was formed in the early 80’s and was originally called Feast of Friends. The founding members were Tom Mick on vocals, Dan Blossom on guitar and Jane Higgins on bass. The line-up also included musicians such as Dan Peters, Reed Hutchinson, Rolf Berteig, Darrell Myers and Kevin Evens and probably a few more…who knows. By the end of their existence the band manage to put out a demo cassette in a limited number of 50 copies. They split at some point in 1988 but will reunite 20 + years later. Yes, Feast did some reunion shows recently, with line-up including Reed and Dan sharing guitar duties, Tom on vocals, Rolf on drums and former Room Nine’s member Scott Boggan on bass.

We can only hope that Feast members would eventually put out a compilation CD of everything they’ve recorded. But until then ------>

500 Foot Jesus

Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin cover)